WAPAIS 2022 – 1st Workshop on Applications of Artificial Intelligence for Society

  • Deadline for paper submission: May 13 2022
  • Notification of paper acceptance: May 16, 2022
  • Deadline for final versions and conference registration: May 23, 2022
  • Conference dates: June 6-7, 2022

The use of artificial intelligence has been growing in recent years applied in various areas, with visible impacts on society. Such breakthroughs lead to a better welfare of the community and modern society as it is nowadays.

In this context, we propose to make this workshop a space for debate about the present and the future of artificial intelligence as a tool to improve the various services, public and private, that support the community, resulting in a substantial increase in the population’s quality of life.

Paper Submission & Publication

Papers should be prepared in English using the IEEE format. Papers that do not conform to the format will not be accepted despite the content compliance. Papers can be submitted as full-paper (6 pages) or short-paper (4 pages).

Submissions will be evaluated by at least 2 members of the Scientific Program Committee members.

Accepted papers will be submitted for inclusion into IEEE Xplore subject to meeting IEEE Xplore’s scope and quality requirements.

List of Topics

  • Improvements on Cybersecurity using AI
  • AI and Digital Innovation
  • AI in Health Information Systems
  • AI in Marketing
  • AI in Industry
  • AI in Public Administration
  • AI for Business Process Improvement
  • AI for Renewable Energies
  • Machine Learning for Manufacturing
  • AI for Serious Games
  • The impact of AI on Society

Organizing committee

Nuno Lopes, 2AI, Instituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal

Joaquim Gonçalves, 2AI, Instituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal

Program Committee

Gabriela Gonçalvesgmc@isep.ipp.ptInstituto Superior Politécnico do Porto, Portugal
Eduarda Ferreiraepf@isep.ipp.ptInstituto Superior Politécnico do Porto, Portugal
Ângelo Martinsamm@isep.ipp.ptInstituto Superior Politécnico do Porto, Portugal
Susana Araújosca@isep.ipp.ptInstituto Superior Politécnico do Porto, Portugal
Maria Raposomrp@isep.ipp.ptInstituto Superior Politécnico do Porto, Portugal
Luis Afonsolma@isep.ipp.ptInstituto Superior Politécnico do Porto, Portugal
Miguel Menezesmiguel.menezes@optimizer.ptLitec/Optimizer, Portugal
Ana Antunesarantunes@ipca.pt2AI, ESP/IPCA, Portugal
AntónioMiguelCruzmiguel.cruz@estg.ipvc.ptInstituto Politécnico Viana Castelo, Portugal
Nuno Bettencourtnmb@isep.ipp.ptInstituto Superior Engenharia Porto, Portugal
Pedro Moreirapmoreira@estg.ipvc.ptInstituto Politécnico Viana Castelo, Portugal
Davide Carneirodcarneiro@estg.ipp.ptESTG – Politécnico Porto , Portugal
Orlando Sousaoms@isep.ipp.ptInstituto Superior Engenharia Porto, Portugal
Teresa Bernardinotpereira@dsi.uminho.ptUniversidade Minho, Portugal
Leonel Santosleonel.santos@ipleiria.ptInstituto Politécnico Leiria, Portugal
Pedro Pintopedropinto@estg.ipvc.ptInstituto Politécnico Viana Castelo, Portugal
Sérgio Lopessil@estg.ipvc.ptInstituto Politécnico Viana Castelo, Portugal
Nuno Lopesnlopes@ipca.pt2AI, Instituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal
Joaquim Gonçalvesjgoncalves@ipca.pt2AI, Instituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal
Paulo Teixeirapteixeira@ipca.ptInstituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal
Patrícia Leitepatricialeite@ipca.ptInstituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal
Joaquim Silvajpsilva@ipca.ptInstituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal
Joã£oCarlosSilvajcsilva@ipca.ptInstituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave , Portugal
Luís Ferreiralufer@ipca.ptInstituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal
Nuno Rodriguesnfr@ipca.ptInstituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal
Nuno Coelhoncoelho@ipca.ptInstituto Politécnico do Cávado e do Ave, Portugal